Rodolphe de Habsbourg founded the castle in 1279 to protect the imperial city of Colmar. The fortress was modernised in the 16th century by Lazare de Schwendi, war adviser to Emperor Maximilian II of Austria, before being dismantled by the Swedes in 1633. Since 2011, the building has been at the heart of a vast architectural project for cultural and touristic development, combining ancient vestiges and contemporary lines.
On beautiful summer nights, from the Hohlandsbourg viewpoint you may catch sight of the White Lady of Pflixbourg descending towards the valley. Half woman, half dragon, only the kiss of a valiant knight can restore her appearance of a beautiful girl.
County town of the Habsburgs, rich with an abundant history, the castle reveals its secrets through a fun and interactive scenographic route to explore with the family. In summer, between rocks and walls, the barbican accommodates a lush medieval garden. The ruins of Pflixbourg can be reached nearby.
Route des Cinq Châteaux
- Walk time from car park
- 10 min
- Nearest tourism office
- Office de Tourisme du Pays d'Eguisheim et de Rouffach - Bureau d'Eguisheim
22a Grand Rue - 68420 Eguisheim
03 89 23 40 33 - firstname.lastname@example.org
- GPS coordinates
- Lat.: 48.06012684 - Long.: 7.26973057